hard to shift into 3rd on 6 speed. Anyone else? - Honda Accord Forum : V6 Performance Accord Forums
Ribbon Banner

Go Back   Honda Accord Forum : V6 Performance Accord Forums > CAR SPECIFIC DISCUSSION > 7TH GENERATION HONDA ACCORD (2003-2007)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Insurance
V6Performance.net is the premier Honda Accord Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 15th, 2006, 09:29 AM   #1

hard to shift into 3rd on 6 speed. Anyone else?

My car has slowly developed a reluctance to go into 3rd gear, especially at low speeds. Many times when I'm poking along in traffic and try to slip it into 3rd, it feels like the linkage binds up. If I keep applying pressure it eventually slips in, but its definitely not as smooth as the other gears. The car is a commuter and is never raced or abused. And for the record I've been driving manual transmission cars for 15 years.

Has anyone else had this problem? What was the fix? It only happens occasionally so I know if I take it in, I'm going to get the "couldn't replicate the problem" response from the dealership.
SlvrBllt is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old February 15th, 2006, 09:31 AM   #2
indoctidiscant

Send a message via AIM to OwAce
its a common problem on the 6spd tranny. Honda will address it as it sees fit. take it to your dealer.
OwAce is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old February 15th, 2006, 10:55 AM   #3

It happens to me too.

I thought it might be the dog cut on the syncro, but it only happens sometimes

More when it's cold out.

I'm now thinking that when it's cold the shift fork might shift plane off sligtly because of the contraction in the metal.

I'm taking it in this weekend.
6MTV6-ACCORD is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old February 15th, 2006, 11:32 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6MTV6-ACCORD