Ignition coil gone bad, jumping tach! - Honda Accord Forum : V6 Performance Accord Forums
Ribbon Banner

Go Back   Honda Accord Forum : V6 Performance Accord Forums > CAR SPECIFIC DISCUSSION > 5TH GENERATION HONDA ACCORD (1994-1997) > 5G HONDA ACCORD TECHNICAL DISCUSSION
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Insurance
V6Performance.net is the premier Honda Accord Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 8th, 2006, 07:12 PM   #1

Question Ignition coil gone bad, jumping tach!

My accord finally decided it would join the crowd. I have searched through the history of the "jumping tach needle" on the RPM guage. I think I am just confusing myself. I have little knowledge of the engine bay. What I gathered from my search was the Ignition Coil is the culprit. I also learned it is under the distributor cap. Seems like MSD Blaster Coil 2's are the ones to replace them with. I found a post on what colored wiring needs to go where. Lastly, I found out I really would like to give this a try to make my tach not jump, plus the added bonuses!

My questions are... Is this something I could get away with (DIY) knowing very little about my car's engine? Is it difficult to get to, I don't have a ton of specialty tools? Is there any step by step documents out their with pictures of the process? Do I need to upgrade the spark plugs and wires from stock (just replaced on the warranty work for the emissions) before I install the new coil or can I wait until after it is installed? Summit racing has a MSD blaster coil 2 (Part MSD-8202) for 34.88 plus shipping is this the correct one? Are the wires just normal wire or are they a special type of wire, if so were do you get the special type of wire?

Thats all I can think of right now! Thanks for expanding on this topic guys I appreciate it!
Soelknight is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement