Fixing falling headliner - Honda Accord Forum : V6 Performance Accord Forums
Ribbon Banner

Go Back   Honda Accord Forum : V6 Performance Accord Forums > CAR SPECIFIC DISCUSSION > 7TH GENERATION HONDA ACCORD (2003-2007) > 7G HONDA ACCORD EXTERIOR/INTERIOR MODS
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Insurance
V6Performance.net is the premier Honda Accord Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 27th, 2016, 05:37 AM   #1

Fixing falling headliner

I know this is a common problem in Florida since I'm a Honda tech and see many cars at the dealership... The headliner on our cars have a thin foam layer between the cloth and structural back board that breaks down over time and causes the headliner cloth to fall down. I'd like to remove my headliner and strip that foam then re-wrap my headliner with new cloth material. Curious if anyone has done this and has a recommendation for removing the foam layer from the backboard. I considered pressure washer in the sun then a blow gun to help dry it off. Just not sure it it'll handle the water.
After that I may wrap it in suede, desert camo cloth, plaid... I dunno something crafty but not obnoxious or distracting.
Ktm434 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old May 27th, 2016, 09:35 AM   #2

I did this on a Civic and had the same plan as you until I tried to remove the foam and realized it was gonna be a real pain. I left the foam on. I bought some automotive interior fabric from an online place.

For the adhesive, there is 3M spray which I tried but think the results were mixed and if I recall correctly I ended up starting over and using contact cement, but had to be careful not to press too hard while installing and have the orange glue squeeze through the fabric and leave stains.