K-Tuned billet shifter review - Honda Accord Forum : V6 Performance Accord Forums
Ribbon Banner

Go Back   Honda Accord Forum : V6 Performance Accord Forums > CAR SPECIFIC DISCUSSION > 7TH GENERATION HONDA ACCORD (2003-2007) > 7G HONDA ACCORD PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Insurance
V6Performance.net is the premier Honda Accord Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By invsblduck

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 15th, 2015, 10:06 PM   #1
SK8 OR DIE

K-Tuned billet shifter review

Manufacturer page: TSX / Accord Shifter

--------------------------------
NOTE: Review will be biased since I've been using Bardi's custom short-shifter for the last 3 years, which is AMAZING. (Review here.)
--------------------------------

So first off, it's an absolutely gorgeous construction and clearly-sexy piece of hardware...

(non-K-Tuned lever extension attached)

Secondly, it weighs in at a whopping 4 lbs 7oz.... that's two pounds heavier than stock box with my current lever (weighing only 2 lbs. 8oz)...

With my Skunk2 shift knob installed, total comes in at 5 lbs 6 oz.

Getting to it:

PROS:
  • Solid feel and construction (radically different than stock, but similar to Bardi's)
  • Fully adjustable at multiple points (lever height, throw, box length, etc)
  • Higher spring rate on the sidearm (requires more force to move along horizontal plane of 'H' pattern)
  • Just freakin' looks bad ass in the car
  • Probably feels better racing...which won't be till next year for me!

CONS:
  • Higher spring rate on the sidearm ; )
    • MEGA tendency to MIS-shift when going from 5th->6th
  • Additional weight
  • More slop than I would like in the throwout bearing... but upon closer inspection, I guess it's engineered this way. Not sure why. Probably has to be some amount of play in it, is all I can guess.