Accord V6 Forum banner

Springs Vs. Coilovers

7K views 46 replies 26 participants last post by  Poolboy 
#1 ·
Though obviously different methods, would anyone recommend getting springs over coilovers?

I'm not very knowledgable about either so what is everyones opinion about this?

ride quality? price over value? etc...

#2 ·
Springs only setup, i would only recommend Eibach Prokit and Tein H-Tech. Nothing else. The other sets drop the car too low, and you will need to get shocks in conjunction. while the previous 2 listed are fine working on its own. Springs only setup does not give adjustability, agressive drop. But it's much cheaper, and for me, it's better for my daily driving style. I can't go too low in my area.

Coil overs are more expensive, much more expensive. But it gives you adjustability on heigh, damper, and gives you the drop you want.

#5 · (Edited)
I have eibach pro kit, with stock shocks. It was a 150 dollar lowering setup. I've been using it since 2003, and it's holding up perfectly right now.

I had Tein SS in 2002, but it blew after 1 year, and after that, i didn't have a use of coil overs, since i didn't really need to go that low, nor need the adjust ability. So I went just the spring route @ 150 bucks vs coil overs around 900 bucks or so. I'm sure you can get coilovers for much cheaper now days, but it's still a bit more expensive.

#9 ·
I have Comptech sport springs, Koni shocks, Comptech rear sway bar, SPC rear camber adjuster as my lowering setup. I've had this setup since early 2004 and have had no problems. The ride is firm on rough roads but perfect on smooth roads. My shoes are 225/40/18 on 18x7.5 48et wheels.

I've thought about spending the money and upgrading to Tein coilovers but I'm happy with my current setup.

I would like to drive a car with a coilover setup to find out if I'm really missing anything.

My ride:

#10 ·
lookin good man, that's about as low as i'm lookin to go.