6MT owners please step inside; need your comments. - Honda Accord Forum : V6 Performance Accord Forums
Ribbon Banner

Go Back   Honda Accord Forum : V6 Performance Accord Forums > CAR SPECIFIC DISCUSSION > 8TH GENERATION HONDA ACCORD (2008-2012)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Insurance
V6Performance.net is the premier Honda Accord Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 10th, 2008, 10:59 AM   #1
ELP_JC

6MT owners please step inside; need your comments.

With the lack of 6MT Coupes, did the next best thing... and was a little disappointed. What was that? Drive the TL-S 6MT, with the same 3.5L engine, and probably nearly identical pwr/wht ratios. Engine felt gutless down low, which required much more revs than I like to avoid stalling it. Then the clutch was like a freaking light switch; extremely abrupt engagement, with the corresponding jerky shifts. And no, I'm not a newbie at manuals, and my '90 Coupe 5MT wasn't like that.
Just for kicks drove the new G37S 6MT, and was the opposite: much more grunt down low, with a very progressive clutch, very much like the Vette and GTO. I also liked the shifter better, but probably because I'm used to notchy shifters by now, and like to feel the gears engage. The TL shifted like butter. I'm not sure I like that anymore, but not a big issue at all. By the way, this G37 is light years ahead of the 35; MUCH quieter inside, and way better interior quality. What I didn't like was the price < he he>, and more importantly, the complication (even without the nav). Why on earth the stupid button to start the car? What a gimmick.