Suggestions on lens with bigger aperture - Honda Accord Forum : V6 Performance Accord Forums
Ribbon Banner

Go Back   Honda Accord Forum : V6 Performance Accord Forums > GENERAL DISCUSSION > RANDOM CHATTER > TECHNOLOGY CORNER > V6P PHOTOGRAPHY CLUB
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Insurance
V6Performance.net is the premier Honda Accord Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 20th, 2007, 11:50 AM   #1

Suggestions on lens with bigger aperture

I have a D40 and looking for decent lens for less than $500. I'm pretty new to this so I need your expertise. I was checking sigma lens and wondering if the link below is a good one or even compatible with my camera. But if you have a better suggestions on the lens that I wanted to get please feel free to share it.

http://www.sigma-photo.com/lenses/le...82&navigator=4
surreal612 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old December 20th, 2007, 12:45 PM   #2
Formerly VTEC-v6!

You won't be able to auto focus with that one because the D40 lacks a screw drive AF motor.

If you are buying a Sigma lens, look for the acronym HSM.

If you are buying a Nikon lens, look for the acronym AF-S.

Tokina/Tamron I don't know the acronym.

Anyways...primes are great fun to shoot with, but nearly all of them lack built-in AF motors so you are stuck with manual focus. What is it that you really want to shoot?
N54TT is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old December 20th, 2007, 01:20 PM   #3

mostly for low light environment, indoor parties etc. I'm trying to avoid using the flash but I'm getting a blurry pics on the slower shutter speed and 1600 ISO. Unless there's other tricks that I do not know about without using a prime lens. Any suggestions?

Last edited by surreal612; December 20th, 2007 at 01:31 PM..

Old December 20th, 2007, 01:29 PM   #4
Formerly VTEC-v6!