Accord V6 Forum banner

101 - 115 of 115 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
@bobs69 the engine is a direct drop but you will have to get a U.S ecu. Im not sure but my friend had the same problem with a mr2 spider. jdm engine but ended up using U.S mr2 spider ecu since the jdm didnt had any ob2 functioning.
also make sure the engine is either a j30a4 or 5. j30a1 might not work since it has different connectors and stuff.

Hope this help
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
"Acura TL j32a3 2004-2006 (direct swap, swap intake manifold if AT)"


Why do you need to swap the intake if the engine came from a car that was automatic? I understand the reasoning for the coolant pipe under the intake, but not the intake. Enlighten me please.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,737 Posts
Discussion Starter #104
"Acura TL j32a3 2004-2006 (direct swap, swap intake manifold if AT)"


Why do you need to swap the intake if the engine came from a car that was automatic? I understand the reasoning for the coolant pipe under the intake, but not the intake. Enlighten me please.
because the TL have the dual intake runners. the ACCORD AT does not have the due intake runners. I mean you can keep it on from the TL if you want.
 

·
Mr. Detail
Joined
·
1,134 Posts
Great thread but this:

Acura TL j32a3 2004-2006 (direct swap, swap intake manifold if AT)
Output is 270 hp and 232 lb·ft (315 N·m) @ 3500-5500 rpm

rating system changed in 2006 So 258 hp 232 lb·ft (315 N·m) @ 3500-5500 rpm. Same engine block just now underrated
Is incorrect. Several manufacturers, Acura, Hyundai and some others were sued in the mid 2000s because they were claiming more power than the engines actually had. New SAE testing showed the motor made less power than was claimed. Probably overrated the power on it because 258 isn't that much more than the 240 the Accord made. Chevy did that with the Corvette/Camaro but underrated the power of the same engine in the Camaro instead of claiming more power in the Corvette.

Otherwise great information!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
hey im getting into diy for my car (honda accord 03 v6 j30a4) and theres a ticking noise in my engine, i have bought an engine crane to take the engine out and have a poke around, does anyone know the compatible engines for my car that would be relatively easier* to swap? thanks in advance,

if i posted this in wrong section soz i dont use forums much.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Please correct me if I'm wrong. The axles for the 7th gen are the same for AT and MT? I have an 06 ex v6. Will the axles fit a J35A8?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
My 06 is an AT. Will the use of an 08 TL Type S engine and ecu harness work? Does anyone know of any issues with this setup? I plan on using a Hondata CARB FlashPro and CAN adapter.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
2005-2008 Acura RL, 2007-2008 Acura TL Type-S J35a8 (not a direct fit, must swap in bell housing from Accord gen8 accord 2008-2010, must repin the injectors or use stock 270cc, also must swap IM if AT)

What do you mean by “must swap IM if AT”
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
2005-2008 Acura RL, 2007-2008 Acura TL Type-S J35a8 (not a direct fit, must swap in bell housing from Accord gen8 accord 2008-2010, must repin the injectors or use stock 270cc, also must swap IM if AT)

What do you mean by “must swap IM if AT”
Never mind lmfao... my heads now here today lmfao
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
If I buy a 2010 Honda Accord transmission to swap with a j35a8, do I have to swap the bell housing from my 03 accord, or can I just use the 2010 on my 03 accord as is?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
If I buy a 2010 Honda Accord transmission to swap with a j35a8, do I have to swap the bell housing from my 03 accord, or can I just use the 2010 on my 03 accord as is?
can I use the 2010 transmission on the j35a8 as is and still do a direct swap. Also could I use the tranny from the j35a8 (2008 tls) as a direct swap instead of changing bell housing
 
101 - 115 of 115 Posts
Top