Accord V6 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, need some non biased advice. Im getting rid of my 2003 WRX cause the gas consuption is just eating me alive. Fun car to drive, but im totally freaking sick of gasing up ever week. Not to mention, the manual tranny has lost its appeal *sorry, im a daily driver, not a street racer*

Anyhoo, im cosigning for a 00-02 Honda Accord coupe. Given that I HATE spending money for gas, I opted to go for a 4 cylinder which, the last time I test drove one, seemed to have decent torque and get up and go.

However, I remember back with my 98 V6 EX Sedan, that particular engine lacked serious torque. I was not impressed with how lacking the car was was with get up and go *at a dead stop, not to freaking street race mind you*

I also don't wanna spend as much as I did on the 98 with the V6. Am I shooting myself in the foot for not upping it up to the V6 or if Im just a daily driver and could car less about racing Joe Blow High School Dodge Neon 3foot spoiler ricer wannabe, will I be ok with the 4 cylinder?

·
"Certified Hybrid Killer"
5,056 Posts
:gotme:

On one hand you say you didn't like the performance of your 98 AV6, but if that's so then why in god's name would you get the 4-cylinder, especially an automatic? Believe me it's a ton slower. I don't street race anymore either, but I don't understand your logic. If you want decent get up and go and you don't want a manual tranny you're gonna need at least a V6 which will eat up gas.

You could just keep your WRX and learn to drive it a bit more efficiently. Short-shift at 2-3k, stay out of the boost, just hold higher gears whereas you would have downshifted before. If you stay off the boost you could probably even get by with regular gas instead of premium.

If you get a 4-cyl/auto Accord you're going to regret it.

·
Your Mom Drives a Honda
1,999 Posts