Accord V6 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, im a noob, sorry. Im buying an 99 accord coupe. I drove it at night and it has stock headlight housings with HID bulbs. They look like crap. Lines all over the road. From what research I have done, i understand that a retro is the only way to get decent HID output. I know that stock with retrofit is extremely expensive but worth it. But this is too much for me at the moment especially after buying the car cash. Cheaper alternatives are

1) buy aftermarket TYC projector headlights, install a Valeo projector in the housing (which is what is found on Audi's). Ok what I am unsure of is the bulb options, if I get the valeo's retrofitted ill need to get D2S bulbs and ballasts that will need to be professionally installed cuz suck at installing anything.
Question:

2) Retro a Valeo that takes H7 bulbs into the TYC housing. If its H7 Is there a way that I could purchase a good quality plug and play HID kit from Mcullock or Phillips with an H7 bulb and 9006 wiring that plugs into the stock accord wiring?
Question: If i get a Valeo retroed, I have to use either D2s or D2r bulb, meaning expensive ballasts and custom wiring?
Question: If the TYC housing is made for a H1 bulb, then how will a DS2 or H7 bulb fit in the hole?

3) Install the TYC with a plug and play H1 kit that plugs into the stock 9006 accord wiring.
Question: I know this sucks but is it better than stock? Also, it looks nice.

4) Remove HID bulbs that are in there now, try to sell them, and just install a stock bulb until I have enough money for a proper retrofit. Maybe get some nice fogs for extra light.

What prices am I looking at for each one and what will give me the most bang for my buck, and still look nice?

·
Registered
841 Posts