Accord V6 Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
first time here and first time having a problem with diagnosing this problem (misfire diag)

For reference to everyone with what they are helping/working with...

I am an ASE cert tech that works mostly on Subaru's and Hyundai's profesionally and turbo dodges as a hobby.

I have an OBD2 scanner.

I have no experience with late model Honda's/acura's other then racing against them on the street.... :)

Car has 87 octane with cheveron gas (I have NEVER gotten a bad tank with them and I run 18 lbs of boost on my Turbo Dodge) but this could be the first. :(

alternator is putting out 49 amps. A little low (for a Suby) but shouldn't be too low to run the ignition system.

Thanks in advance.

I have a misfire on all 6 cyl but 3,5,6 on start up imediatly and the rest set a code after a short drive. Test drives like a dog and idles just as bad.

Alternator seems ok but is steadily dropping in voltage with all acceries on. (about .4v's every min) I watched it get down to 12.7v.

I know that with a direct coil ignition, low operating voltage will cause a weak spark but on start up there is the full 14.3+ and the misfire is very present. I have searched and found info (here) that there is a carbon build up possibility (solution was... it went away) bad spark plugs, (just replaced with factory denso's) and a reset of the ECM by pulling the fuse ( I haven't done that yet, I have just cleared with scanner.

Any thing from dealership experience of diag or self diag? I have monitor data (trim %, o2 readings, etc) if that helps any of the pro's out there.

Thanks in advance.

Steven
San Diego

·
Registered
813 Posts