Accord V6 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey. I am very new to the mods. I got a 92 Honda Civic LX with EVERYTHING stock. What mods should i add (in range of $500) to get better performance and acceleration. Explaining would be nice since i dont know much about the parts yet. I know about Cold Air Intake. Also, what would make my muffler really loud and heavy sound. Like, you know, the one that you hear almost everyday on Civics. How much would it cost to get a loud muffler. Thanks. I hope for some good help. Thanks a lot.

·
863 Posts
you can always look into a d16z6 swap (Ex Sohc vtec motor). Lots of people in So. Cali get rid of those motors to swap to a b-series, so prices are reasonable.

·
JB4 e92
5,224 Posts
First I would suggest getting some sort of motor swap. Either a B16 (Honda Civic Si) or B18 (Acura Integra GSR), it'll be a couple hundred dollars more than how much you want to spend. But in the long run, it will help you out "bang for the buck."

An intake (cold or short ram) will open up some restrictions (breathe easier), allowing you to gain a couple horsepower and a somewhat louder car.

Secondly, I would not suggest getting a "loud muffler" like the "other Civics" out there. 1. You'll piss people off, as well as the cops. 2. People will look at you, and/or your car in disgust.

usman152008 said:
what would d16z6 do? make the muffler loud?
Thats a D-series Honda Civic motor. :)

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
what kind of CAI should i get?

thanks for you input guys. I wouldnt do a swap just yet since i am not familiar yet with cars that much. I was thinking about CAI. What kind of CAI should i get? How much do you thing it will cost and how much will the installation be for. But i also want a loud muffler too. Any tips on that besides "cops being pissed" Thanks

·
Accord Mafia Member #001
350 Posts
usman152008 said: