Accord V6 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm painting over the woodgrain (which I hate). Painting it black with Duplicolor Auto Spray (DSGM001W BLACK). I have already done one panel (driver side window control panel). I used Duplicolor Auto Spray (Clear Top Coat) but it didn't come out as I was hoping. I wanted it to be really shiny and glossy. I've tried wet sanding it and from what I can remember (I did it a while ago, so I don't remember the exact results) it took all the clear coat off and started sanding off the paint, so I had to sand it really lightly and that didn't even really help much.

So basically I'm asking for some advice on how to get a really glossy coat on top of the paint. Any and all advice is welcome and appreciated. (As a sidenote, I'm a broke college student, so cheap methods would be best).

EDIT:
Another sidenote...when I did that driver side trim, after I put back the door panels and set everything up, it rattles with bass now. This is something I haven't looked into and I'm sure I'll be able to fix if I do look into it, however if anyone has any ideas, i'd appreciate it.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
AxisAccord said:
did you put more than one coat of clear on it?
Yeah, but when I would wet sand it, no matter how many coats i put on, it would seem to all come off.

Any more ideas?

·
Registered
448 Posts
use a plastic promotor on the plastic first, like bulldog. Also use krylon fusion, its meant for plastic and won't chip off after 7 days.

·
Registered
353 Posts
ryon527 said:
use a plastic promotor on the plastic first, like bulldog. Also use krylon fusion, its meant for plastic and won't chip off after 7 days.

i was planning to do the samething but with a chrome gloss finish. would the above still apply.
also, what are those products.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
ryon527 said:
wouldn't do the chrome or wouldn't paint the interior at all?