Accord V6 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, im a bit of a honda noob here, ive always been driving my mustang, just picked up an 2001 honda accord ex v6, and im really lovin it. Ive read into the car a bit and realized that im using a E-Vtec car. What determins this? Is there ANY way i can just replace the wimpy e-vtec ones with a reguar ones, and replace the 3500+ rpm cams with an even more aggressive setup? Id like to get a bit more than 200Hp outta this without doing anything too extreme, this, to me would be a good start, oh and what about j30a4 heads on it? ( 2003+ accord heads )

·
863 Posts
change the vtec fluid to the high performance type should yield considerable results.

search for cl-s cams.

there's a discussion going on about the a4 head swap; current concensus is not worth it. check the thread for the low down.

·
Registered
263 Posts
Engine mods:
Comptech ice box
Mugen t-stat, switch, cap
DC Headers
NGK Iridium IX or Denso IK-16
CL-S cams
Bored extra 3mm stock throttle body
UR CRANK pulley sc v12 (stock size)
Unichip (custom tuned)
Dr. Evil transmission
CL-S mufflers.

Suspension
Eibach Pro-kit
Koni Yellows
Eibach sway bars
Any brand front strut bar.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
so if i do this, will my car still be an e-vtec? but just with more aggressive cams? or does it get rid the fact that its an e-vtec?

·
"Certified Hybrid Killer"
5,056 Posts