Accord V6 Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! First of all, I am a newbie to all of this. I've scoured the forums/youtube/google for these exact questions but can only find fragmented answers to them, so I thought it easier to simply ask the community in one large post to consolidate everything for both myself and the others in my situation. The research I've done has been gathered within the past month and I'll do my absolute best not to sound like a total idiot.

So, to start off I purchased my Honda Accord 3.0 6MT just over a month ago, it's got a 196k on it and was previously owned by a "mechanic" which is why I had no problem with the mileage on it. I've replaced a significant amount of things on it since to get it driveable/trustworthy on the road again.

Right now I'm looking at performance upgrades as I've found the J series is quite fun to wrench with. However, with the j30a4 I've found a lot of people saying it's not even worth upgrading, so the first question is exactly that. Is it?
Second, would I get a better cost/gain ratio from a simple supercharger/turbo install?

Other questions are about the compatibility/efficacy of the swaps/mods available.
Would the j35 or j37 intake manifold be better? I see a ton of j35 intake swaps, but why? From what I've been able to find the j37 is better flowing, just rarer to find in junkyards. Would I need anything past the butterfly valve and new TB from said j37 for the intake swap? And I've heard rev hang can be an issue, does the P2R Spacer fix that issue entirely?
Truly what are the best heads to put onto the j30? Do others not swap the j35/j37 heads due to compatibility issues or they lack the same performance figures?

Then comes the intake/exhaust.
I'd love to grab a cold AI, but I'm unable to find one for the Accord that is more than a couple inches longer than a short ram AI, so is there genuinely a difference in them?