Accord V6 Forum banner

761 - 780 of 795 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I have a 4 cylinder automatic 2000 Honda Accord, I'm thinking about doing a J32A2 engine swap. I know how to do some simple stuff like bolt-ons and suspension and brakes. But I think this job I had to pay someone professional to do it. For the people who have done it, how much did it cost in hardware (engine, transmission, ECU, engine mounts, and all other necessary hardware) and labor? I'm thinking maybe $5-6k for this, is this realistic or am I underestimating the cost? Thanks.
 

·
J35 _ 5-Speed A/T
Joined
·
1,773 Posts
I have a 4 cylinder automatic 2000 Honda Accord, I'm thinking about doing a J32A2 engine swap. I know how to do some simple stuff like bolt-ons and suspension and brakes. But I think this job I had to pay someone professional to do it. For the people who have done it, how much did it cost in hardware (engine, transmission, ECU, engine mounts, and all other necessary hardware) and labor? I'm thinking maybe $5-6k for this, is this realistic or am I underestimating the cost? Thanks.

You have the wrong platform to start with. Some of the accessories are on the opposite side on your 4 cylinder model versus the V6 model. Going from a 4 cylinder to V6 is TONS of work.



You would at least need to change the following, if not more....

Front Subframe

All front suspension components

Fuse box? not sure if the electrical is the same
also, there is another small electrical box beside the big fuse box. I don't know what that is but it's on the V6 model so you may need that.


ABS module - if you want ABS, you will need to fabricate new ABS lines as well as swap the rear I4 Drum brakes to Disc

Radiator itself; the hose outlets are in different areas on each radiator & Overfill tube is routed opposite way.

Cruise control module - if you want this yes you need to relocate this component, but you could go without this one.

V6 CV Axles

Air Box/Intake : not sure if this would mount up on the I4 engine bay. There may not be any mounting holes in the spots you need. The mounting holes you need may need to be made and a holes cut into metal to route the air intake tubing.


Brake booster and reservoir seem to be in the same spot, so you may be lucky here. But, I don't know if they are the same part? but you got the V6 donor.


You may need the splash guard from the V6 car too> not sure if this is the same or if it would mount up. Again you may need to make your own mounting holes?

You will need the V6 cluster, as the water temp sender in the cluster?(not sure on this term) is different versus the I4 cluster.

Gear shift.
There is a reverse gear lockout feature in the shifter, the wiring may or may not be the same in each car. Wiring issue may pop up on this one.


You will need to have the I4 key re-coded by a Honda dealer to match the immobilizer chip in the V6 ECU.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Thanks for the detailed reply. Looks like I might not want to start with my car or maybe build the engine for turbo instead. I can see some of the stuff I might be able to side step, for example I could do without ABS, I could learn threshold braking. I never use cruise control on my car even on long drives, I just don't trust it, so that can be removed. Air Box/Intake, would an aftermarket short ram fit? If so, I'll probably go with that. But all the other issues seems like it'll cost a lot of money, especially the front subframe and all suspension components. So I'll really have to price this out and see if it's worth doing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,263 Posts
Your best bet would be to buy mine. I,m selling right now. $7,200. I,m the original owner. Give me your email & I can send you over the info. j32a2 swap w/ CT s/c 8-9psi & ALL of the goodies & supports that go along w/ it. 312whp, 310wtq. Tuned on 93 octane. Full interior daily driver! No accidents. Its posted in the cars for sale section on this site w/ details also[email protected], 941-740-0255 Brad
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,263 Posts
Yeah, don't blame you. Just thought you could sell yours for $3000, then buy mine & skip everything & all the cost in between. Although doing it yourself is half the fun. But you wouldn't have to shell out $15000 in aftermarket goodies to get here, lol
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Ok So i have a 2000 coupe with the j30a1 that i bought a year ago (only put on about 2500 miles). The person i bought it from had the head gaskets timing belt and water pump replaced. at about 4k rpm the timing belt idle bearing bolt was lost and you can all guess the result. Lucky enough there is no piston damage and seems i have only mildly bent the exhaust valves on cyl 1,2,3,4. The question then comes up do i go ahead and to a full motor swap or swap the heads. Im not looking to Get huge numbers by any means however i would like a little more pep.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
J35A4...i know the piston change is required when changing geads, but would just putting type-s cams in the j35 heads require the piston change? And also i have searched and searched but whats the J35A4 stock throttle body sixe vs the TL-s from 2002? I believe the TL-S TB is 66mm
 

·
J35 _ 5-Speed A/T
Joined
·
1,773 Posts
J35A4...i know the piston change is required when changing geads, but would just putting type-s cams in the j35 heads require the piston change? And also i have searched and searched but whats the J35A4 stock throttle body sixe vs the TL-s from 2002? I believe the TL-S TB is 66mm
Both throttle bodies are 64mm


Which heads are you putting on the J35A4?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Can I use the same harness

Good day am new the site and after doing some internet search I found the conversation you had with a gentleman explaining how to use the J35A4/honda Odyssey heads on his J30A1 V6 accord to get some hp gains... I also have this problem (needing more power) and I wanted to know if I get the heads like you suggested and blot them to my J30A1 block can I use or connect those heads and intake manifold to my existing J30A1 wire harness or is it that when I get the heads I also have to get a wire harness and ecu from the donor vehicle. My first choice was to buy a turbo kit from ebay and also a transmission shift kit with a LSD kit to install in the differential and hope to get a modest upgrade of 90hp and at least 80ft.lb of torque but I like to be a lil different and wouldn't mind boasting my upgraded engine.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Good day again. I have to make a change in the last message I posted... I too have a 2002 honda accord V6 and also would like to do a engine swap... am looking at using a J35A4 block and J32A2 heads... my question since am a DIY guy will I have to change my engine wire harness to match any new sensor connections on the J32A2 heads? If I don't have to change the harness will I have to change my ecu then. Or is it that I can use my same 3.0L harness and ecu to run my new engine and block combo...?
 

·
J35 _ 5-Speed A/T
Joined
·
1,773 Posts
Good day again. I have to make a change in the last message I posted... I too have a 2002 honda accord V6 and also would like to do a engine swap... am looking at using a J35A4 block and J32A2 heads... my question since am a DIY guy will I have to change my engine wire harness to match any new sensor connections on the J32A2 heads? If I don't have to change the harness will I have to change my ecu then. Or is it that I can use my same 3.0L harness and ecu to run my new engine and block combo...?

If you swap in a J35A4, you need to use the ECU and engine wire harness to go with it. That ECU is programmed to run a 5 Speed automatic transmission, and it has a knock sensor too. The 4 speed auto ECU does not have the knock sensor.

I don't think that J35A4 ECU will run your 4 Speed automatic transmission.
So...You would also need to swap in the 5 speed automatic transmission.


Keep in mind I did not do this swap myself. I paid someone else to do it so I am just repeating some of the information that I am aware/remember.

There is some wiring stuff you might need to do. I do know reverse lockout and the temperature gauge are 2 items that need to be wired/repinned in order to work. Might be some other items also.


You will throw Error codes with that swap. CEL and TCS lights will be on. so if you have emissions testing you ain't gonna pass unless you pay the person to pass you.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Ok thanks... I just threw that out there because I was reading the very first set of post where 02AV6 posted that, that particular combo made great power... he never said the tranny and wire harness will have to be done as well... so in general I may just have to do a head swap to the J32A2 and intake setup then... if it means I don't have to change out my tranny as well... beacuse I already bought a shift kit and LSD to be installed into my four speed tranny and would hate to see it go to waste... so I terms of swapping just heads and intake only you guys are saying that I would need to purchase the wire harness for the tl-s and ecu since am using the TL-S heads...
 

·
J35 _ 5-Speed A/T
Joined
·
1,773 Posts
.....so I terms of swapping just heads and intake only you guys are saying that I would need to purchase the wire harness for the tl-s and ecu since am using the TL-S heads...

No.
If you are only swapping the J32A2, J35A3 or J35A4 Top End onto your J30A1 Low End(Short Block) you do not need to change the engine wire harness and ECU.

Note: you will use the J30A1 head gaskets.



See my thread for addt'l info here:
http://www.v6performance.net/forums/6g-honda-accord-performance-discussion/198938-j30-j35-paul-smalser-top-end-swap.html
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Thanks wheel man... but give me a DIY kinna guy the best head swap on my J30A1 block... am going to buy a turbo kit on ebay and hopefully use no more than 12-15psi... should I go with the high reving J32A2 heads or the torque monster J35A3/4 heads... I live in the bahamas so our roads are short... we have a dragstrip that was recently but a usa dragstrip designer but for my daily driving we barely have 800ft corners and our main roads could be 2 miles at best of 2 lane traffic... I love the fact of high reving tire screaming drives but having that torque is a plus. Am not build a dragster but I want to get the grocery store faster to get back to watch the basketball games... any thoughts. I already have the tranny shift kit and LSD kit for my 4 speed... I already order a new set of J30A1 pistons but am searching for forged rods can you point me in the right direction.
 

·
J35 _ 5-Speed A/T
Joined
·
1,773 Posts
Thanks wheel man... but give me a DIY kinna guy the best head swap on my J30A1 block... am going to buy a turbo kit on ebay and hopefully use no more than 12-15psi... should I go with the high reving J32A2 heads or the torque monster J35A3/4 heads... I live in the bahamas so our roads are short... we have a dragstrip that was recently but a usa dragstrip designer but for my daily driving we barely have 800ft corners and our main roads could be 2 miles at best of 2 lane traffic... I love the fact of high reving tire screaming drives but having that torque is a plus. Am not build a dragster but I want to get the grocery store faster to get back to watch the basketball games... any thoughts. I already have the tranny shift kit and LSD kit for my 4 speed... I already order a new set of J30A1 pistons but am searching for forged rods can you point me in the right direction.

Connecting Rods:
Honda Accord Acura CL - J30A Rods - Pauter


Either head will work about the same. We don't have any FlowBench data to show if either head is any better, it is all theory. Both heads are the same casting internally. The only difference is the Intake Valve on the J32A2 heads which is 36mm vs 35mm on the J35A3/A4 heads.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Ok cool... I ask these question because over here even thou we have machine shops that do head repair I haven't seen any one do a piston valve clearance enlargement successfully. So this is why I just wanted to get a simple head swap option that doesn't require to much specialized machine work done to it...as well as ecu and harness swapping. When I come over the the U.S this summer I'll look around for a J35A4 head and intake manifold setup and use your step by step installation method, then install the turbo and run it for a month at just 8psi and slowly dial it up to 15 psi after continuing monition the all my sensors... when am in south Florida does anyone knows a good performance shop between the area of Miami and fort Lauderdale. .. this will be the general area where am staying?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Ok I didn't think this ture about the turbo part... since am swapping the heads off a J35A3/4 onto my J30A1 block... the question should I be looking for a J30A1 turbo kit thats if the headers can fit on the J35A heads or is it that I have to look for a specific vehicle to get the turbo kit on ebay... I know mostly the J35A is used in the odyssey van.... buy doing a search for anything for a J35A3/4 or honda Odyssey turbo kit and coming up blank on ebay... P.S help me..... shouting for HELP....
 
761 - 780 of 795 Posts
Top